The political history of Nepal from 2007 to 2017 BS was full of tremulous and political instability. The reasons for having political instability are as follows:

  • The revolution of 2007 was succeeded and democratic system was introduced. But most of the people were not aware about democratic system.
  • Political parties were not matured and the ranas wanted to re-establish the old regime.
  • At the same time, government changed time and again.
  • King mahendra was not in favour of democratic system and he wanted to exercise more power.

According to the delhi agreement, a coalition government of Nepali congress and rana had formed. This cabinet passed the interim constitution on 17th Chaitra 2007 BS. This was the first democratic constitution of Nepal. It had 7 part, 73 articles and 3 indexes. Some important features of this constitution were:

  • There were the provision to establish legislature of people's representatives and directive principles and policies of the state.
  • Civil rights of the citizen were also defined in the constitution.
  • There were the provisions of supreme court, public service commission and advisory council.

But the coalition government could not work smoothly as there was always conflict between rana and congress. Nepali congress thought that they couldn't work properly until mohan shumsher was in power. So, in 25th of kartik 2008 BS, all the cabinet members from the side of nepali congress resigned and mohan sumsher and other cabinet members from the side of ranas were also compelled to resign.

After the resignation of mohan shumsher, a 14 members cabinet was formed by king Tribhuvan under the leadership of matrika prashad Koirala, the then president of nepali congress. This cabinet had to fulfil the following responsibilities :

  • To establish independent judicial department,
  • To implement the provision of public service commission effectively.
  • To hold the election of constituent assembly within the year of 2009 BS,
  • To ascertain the civil rights of the people.

This government also could not function properly and failed. The reasons for the failure of this government are as follows :

  • Various political parties and organizations like Nepal praja parishad, communist party of Nepal, etc had formed a united democratic front and were demanding to form an all party government.
  • At the same time Dr. K.I. Singh started to revolt against this government. But he was unsuccessful and fled to Tibet.
  • Bhim dutta panta, one of the commanders of the people's liberation army during the revolution was also very dissatisfied with the acts of this government. He had launched a movement raising voice for land ownership, welfare of the people and security.
  • The government was being criticised from all sectors. Similarly, conflicts took place in the nepali congress party regarding this government.

Due to all these reasons, the government of nepali congress was dissolved.

King Tribhuvan again formed a five ember advisory government but it was also criticised inside the country and by the government of india as well. So this government was also dissolved in 2010 BS. King Tribhuvan formed another cabinet of five members. Five ministers were not sufficient to handle all department of the government therefore twelve secretaries were also appointed to run the state affairs. Due to internal conflict in the party and its inability to maintain peace in the country the government of matrika prashad Koirala was also dissolved in 2011 BS. In the same year king Tribhuvan died and mahendra became the king of Nepal. Immediately after enthronement, king mahendra had formed an advisory council and started direct rule in Nepal.

In 2012 BS, another government was formed under the leadership of tanka prashad acharya, the president of praja parishad. This government also was dissolved in 2013 BS after six months of its formation and another cabinet was formed under the leadership of Dr. K.I. singh but this government also couldn't exist for long time. Thus, during the period of 2007 to 2017 BS many governments were formed and dismissed which created political instability and condition of lawlessness in Nepal.

Major Historical Events from 2007 To 2017 BS

17th Chaitra, 2007 BS  cabinet passed the interim constitution of Nepal 2007

25th kartik, 2008 BS  Cabinet members from nepali congress resigned

2010 BS   Five members advisory government dissolved

2011 BS   Government of matrika prashad Koirala dissolved

2012 BS   Government of tanka prashad acharya formed

2013 BS   Government of tanka prashad acharya dissolved

2013 BS   Government of Dr. K.I. (Kunwar indrajeet) singh formed

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box.

Previous Post Next Post