During the direct rule of king mahendra, a government was formed under the chairmanship of subarna shumsher on 21st mangsir 2014 BS. This government proclaimed the constitution of Nepal 2015 on 1st falgun 2015 BS. Nepal was divided into 108 constituencies. The nepali congress won 74 seats in this election and ormed the government. Bishweshwar prasad Koirala became the first elected prime minister of Nepal. B.P. Koirala formed a cabinet on 13th jestha 2016 BS. The following members were in his cabinet :

  1. B.P. Koirala (Prime Minister)
  2. Subarna shumsher (Deputy PM)
  3. Ganesh Man Singh
  4. Surya Prasad Upadhyaya
  5. Ram Narayan Mishra
  6. Kashi Nath Gautam
  7. Parashu Narayan Chaudhari
  8. Shiva Raj Panta
  9. Prem Raj Angdambe
  10. Surya Nath Das
  11. Lalit Chand
  12. Dwarika Devi Thakurani
  13. Min Bahadur Gurung
  14. Jaman Singh Gurung
  15. Netra Bahadur Malla
  16. Dr. Tulsi Giri
  17. Shiva Prasad Shah
  18. Diwan Singh Rai
  19. Hira Prasad Joshi
  20. Triweni Prasad Pradhan

The Event of 2017 (Satra Salko kanda) :

King Mahendra

After the general election of 2015, a popular government had formed on the premiership of B.P. Koirala. People cast their vote to choose their government bt themselves for the first time. But king mahendra did not like to popularity of B.P. Koirala. He was a very ambitious king and wanted to rule by himself. So, using articles 55 of the constitution of 2015, he dismissed the elected government, suspended parliament, and imprisoned the prime minister on 1st paush 2017 BS. He also arrested ministers, political activists, and leaders and took the sole power in his hand. He banned the political parties charging that government was unable to solve the problems of the people and failed to maintain law and order. National unity and the sovereignty of the country were in danger. This act of king mahendra is called the incident of 2017 BS. After 21 days of this incident, he started partyless automatic panchayat system in Nepal. Nepalese people had to struggle for 30 years to restore their fundamental rights and loktantra.

B.P. Koirala

Socio-economic achievement from 2007 to 2017 BS

Though the period of 2007 to 2017 BS was full of political instability and tremulous, many important changes took place in the country. The major socio-economic achievements of this period are as follows :

  • The constitutional rule with multiparty democratic system began after the revolution of 2007 BS.
  • Diplomatic relations were established with many countries of the world.
  • Five year plans were started and implemented.
  • Municipal election of Kathmandu municipality took place for the first time.
  • Land reform programme and birta abolition act were implemented.
  • Great changes took place in the field of education. Common people also got opportunity to go to schools and colleges. English medium schools were opened throughout the country.
  • Airways service began and internal as well as international flights started.
  • Civil service act 2013 was implemented and rastra bank was established.
  • All forests of Nepal were nationalized.
  • Telephone and telegram services started.

Though such socio-economic development took place to some extent but the political achievement couldn't take place due to continuous political instability and the the pace of development was slow.

Major Hitorical Events 2014-2017 BS

  • 1st mangsir, 2014 Government formed on the chairmanship Subarna Shumsher
  • 1st falgun, 2015 Promulgation of the constitution of Nepal 2015 BS
  • 7th falgun 2015 First general election of parliament was held
  • 13th jestha, 2016 B.P. Koirala formed cabinet
  • 1st paush, 2017 king mahendra dismissed elected government of nepali congress, suspended parliament, imprisoned the prime minister, minister, political activists, banned political parties and seized all power.
  • 22nd paush, 2017 Beginning of panchayat system.


Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box.

Previous Post Next Post